The inaugural season of the Call of Duty World League, presented by PlayStation 4 comes to an end this weekend with the Call of Duty World League Championship, which takes place at Call of Duty XP!

The event will start on Thursday, September 1st with Group Play, followed by the Double Elimination bracket beginning late on Friday, September 2nd. 32 of the top Call of Duty teams from around the world will compete for the biggest prize pool in Call of Duty’s history–$2 million.


  • Millenium (EU) Š
  • Splyce (EU) Š
  • ŠBlack Forest Games (previously Revotables) (EU)
  • HyperGames (EU)
  • Supremacy (EU)
  • FAB Games (EU)
  • Epsilon eSports (EU)
  • PuLse Gaming (EU)
  • Team Infused (EU)
  • Giants Gaming (EU)
  • Team LDLC (EU)
  • Team Vitality (EU)
  • Mindfreak (ANZ) Š Š
  • Tainted Minds (ANZ)
  • Orbit (ANZ) Š
  • Chiefs eSports Club (ANZ) Š  Š Š
  • Livin the Dream (NA)
  • Rise Nation (NA) Š Š
  • Apotheon eSports (NA) Š
  • Luminosity (NA) Š
  • FaZe Clan (NA)
  • Ground Zero (NA)
  • Allegiance (NA)
  • Team eLevate (NA)
  • Most Wanted (previously Corn) (NA)
  • Team Kaliber (NA) Š
  • Lethal Gaming (previously Most Wanted) (NA) Š
  • Team EnVyUs (NA)
  • Cloud9 (NA
  • OpTic Gaming (NA)
  • compLexity (NA) Š
  • PNDA Gaming (NA)

Groups / Format:

The format of the event will be that teams are split into eight groups of four. The Groups were announced during a live stream on August 15, but in case you missed that, here’s the groups:


Each team will play all three of the other teams in their groups once. Following these matches, the top two teams from each group will qualify for the double elimination bracket. The bottom two teams in each group will be eliminated. The remaining 16 teams will then be placed into a double elimination bracket, and the teams will face off till we reach the finals.

All of the matches played will be Best of 5 matches. In the Grand Finals, if the winner bracket team wins the first best of 5, they are the winner of the event; however, if the loser bracket team wins the first best of the 5, another best of 5 must be played. The winner of the second best of 5, in this case, is the tournament winner. The full rule set is available on the CWL site here.

The finals of the CWL Championship is currently scheduled to take place on Sunday, September 4 at 1:00PM PDT.


The entire schedule for the Call of Duty World League Championship can be viewed on the official Call of Duty esports site here.

  • Thursday, September 1 — starts at 9:30AM PT / 12PM ET / 5PM UK
  • Friday, September 2 — starts at 11AM PT / 2PM ET / 7PM UK
  • Saturday, September 3 — starts at 9:30AM PT / 12:30PM ET / 5:30PM UK
  • Sunday, September 4 — starts at 9:30AM PT / 12:30PM ET / 5:30PM UK

Prize Pool:

  • 1st: $800,000
  • 2nd: $250,000
  • 3rd: $150,000
  • 4th: $120,000
  • 5th-6th: $70,000
  • 7th-8th: $50,000
  • 9th-12th: $30,000
  • 13th-16th: $20,000
  • 17th-32nd: $15,000

Total prize pool is $2 million, the biggest in Call of Duty’s history.

Broadcast Talent:



In addition, Activision has announced a new way to watch Call of Duty esports called ‘XP Zone.’ This new broadcast will be a single link hub to watch all of the CWL Championship action, featuring full-screen look ins, commentary of the action, and additional analysis between matches and games. The XP Zone will be available from September 1 through September 3. The entire event will feature four streams, which will feature every single match from the weekend.

On Sept. 4, the event will be streamed through one stream only.

Additionally, the event will be streamed on Twitch,, YouTube, and via the in-game live event viewer in Black Ops 3 on PlayStation 4.

We will be attending Call of Duty XP and will be providing live updates on all of the CWL action during the weekend. Be sure to follow us on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram!

SOURCE: Activision