Geoff Keighley has announced on Twitter that he is hosting a major event as part of the gamescom 2019 event in Cologne, Germany.

Keighley has revealed that on August 19 at 11AM PT / 2PM ET / 8PM CEST that the Opening Night event will take place and be live-streamed worldwide for fans to watch on the website.

Advertisement

As part of this event, Keighley shared on Twitter a graphic as to which publishers will be part of the event, and Activision is listed as a partner to have an announcement during the event. Activision’s only new game for this fall is Call of Duty: Modern Warfare, so we should expect something Modern Warfare related news to drop during the show.


Produced by Geoff Keighley, host and producer of ‘The Game Awards’.

Advertisement

“gamescom: Opening Night Live” will be produced in English and will be hosted live in front of around 1,500 fans in Cologne. This will give gamers worldwide an overview of what to expect during this year’s gamescom week.

Some of the publishers scheduled to make announcements and debut world premiere content during gamescom: Opening Night Live include: 2K, Activision, Bandai Namco Entertainment, Bungie, Capcom, Electronic Arts, Epic Games, Google Stadia, Koch Media/Deep Silver, Private Division, Sega, Square Enix, Sony Interactive Entertainment, THQ Nordic GmbH, Ubisoft and Xbox Game Studios. A number of independent game studios will also make announcements.

Advertisement

We will update you as we get closer to gamescom on what to expect with Call of Duty: Modern Warfare.

comments below