Black Ops 3 will feature a new specialist character system in multiplayer inspired by Destiny. Treyarch has added a new way for players to rank up and level up. The title features nine specialists, each with two abilities, for a total of 18 choices. You get to pick one specialist and one of the powers before every match…similar to how you create a class before matches.

Today, Treyarch has revealed four out of the nine specialist that will be in Call of Duty: Black Ops 3.

  • Ruin
    • Power Weapon: Gravity Spikes – takes out nearby enemies with a powerful shockwave
      Ability: Overdrive – gives players a burst of speed for a short period of time
  • Seraph
    • Power Weapon: Annihilator – high-caliber revolver that instantly kills any enemies in the bullet’s path
    • Ability: Combat Focus – temporarily adds a multiplier to score in order to help players rack up score streaks
  • Outrider
    • Power Weapon: Sparrow – compound bow featuring explosive bolts that stick in enemies
    • Ability: Vision Pulse – senses where nearby enemies are and highlights them for a short period of time
  • Reaper
    • Power Weapon: Scythe – transforms Reaper’s robotic arm into a powerful mini-gun
    • Ability: Psychosis–Infiltrate enemy DNI systems to simulate three instanced decoy Reapers.

Specialist abilities range from robot arm transforming into a gun all the way to ability to see through walls. Some are called “Seraph”‘s powerful handcannon, or the “Ruin”‘s fists-first smash attack – which take cues from Destiny’s super abilities.

Many Treyarch developers are Destiny fans, and they have been able to bring a feature from that and ground it into what Call of Duty is.

SOURCE: GameInformer

comments below