David “Vahn” Vonderhaar has posted on the official Call of Duty forums details on the Black Ops 2 MP level progression system.


Vahn starts by discussing how the normal level XP works:

Black Ops 2 has 55 levels in it. The total amount of XP is very similar to the amount needed to prestige in World at War and Modern Warfare 1. I’d say it’s easier to level up, because you earn more XP than ever before with our Medals, Challenges we make available to you, as well as the leveling up guns themselves which grant bonus XP.

Create a Class is unlocked at Level 4 in Black Ops 2, similar to previous. At level 4 you have 4 ‘unlock’ tokens to use.


At level 4, we give you about a dozen things you can equip “for free.” This means you don’t have to spend an unlock token on them. It’s effectively one item from each category.

  • 1 Assault Rifle
  • 1 SMG
  • 1 LMG
  • 1 Shotgun
  • 1 Sniper Rifle
  • 1 Perk from each of the 3 perk categories
  • 1 lethal grenade
  • 1 tactical grenade/equipment
Vahn continues stating that, “You get a perk at level 5. You get equipment at level 6. At level 7 we unlock Scorestreaks. You get 3 for free and 3 you can optionally spend unlock tokens on. At level 8 we give you a Perk. At level 9 we give you new Scorestreak.”
Then at level 10 there is a pattern:

  • Level 10 – Weapon + Something Else
  • Level 11 – Equipment (either lethal or tatical).
  • Level 12 – Scorestreak

This is just a brief overview of how leveling in Black Ops 2 MP will work. More details will be coming in the future.


SOURCE: Official Call of Duty Forums

comments below